Does Pizza Crust Have Eggs?


*This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Everyone loves pizza. You can make this yummy food yourself or pick it up from your favorite pizza restaurant. It’s made from pizza dough topped with tomato sauce, cheese, meats and veggies that is then baked to perfection. 

A hot pizza is a great addition to watching a sports game on TV or a family night. But, if you have an egg allergy or are vegan, you may be wondering if you can even have pizza crust. 

Does pizza crust have eggs?

Pizza crust does not typically have any eggs in it. Not even restaurant pizza crusts contain eggs. A pizza crust is made up of primarily flour, water, salt, yeast and sometimes sugar, olive oil, but no eggs are traditionally used. 

Americans eat a lot of pizza, even ordering it regularly. And it’s no wonder since it is so delicious and customizable. You can add so many different toppings to your pizza to make it exactly how you want. 

The most common pizza topping is pepperoni. 

The pizza we know today was created in Naples, Italy. Here they added tomatoes to the pizza. Before this time, the Greeks and Egyptians cooked pizza like a flatbread topped with olive oil and spices. 

So, our modern pizza came from the country of Italy. 

This Italian dish can be made in several ways. Toppings can vary and there are different kinds of crust, too. You could have thin crust, thick crust, stuffed crust, etc. 

The crust is important to a pizza because this is what all the toppings are placed on. It is one of the make or break things about a pizza. A good crust generally means good pizza. 

Pizza crust is made with flour, water, salt, sugar, olive oil, and yeast. So, no, pizza crust isn’t made with eggs unless it is a gluten-free crust. If you have an allergy to eggs, or are on a vegan diet,you will want to check and see if the crust contains eggs just to be safe. 

But, most of the time pizza crust doesn’t have eggs in it.To see the most popular pizza dough mixes (so you can make your own to ensure it doesn’t have eggs) just click here. 

Does Pizza Hut, Dominos, Etc Crust Have Eggs In It?

Pizza is the perfect choice for a quick and easy meal. You can pick up some pizza from a local restaurant like Pizza Hut, Dominos, Papa Johns, Little Caesars, etc. We already mentioned that pizza crust does not usually have egg in it, but what about restaurant pizza crust? 

Do they use egg when making their crusts?

Restaurant pizza crust from places like Pizza Hut and Dominos don’t make their pizza crust with eggs. The only pizza that may contain egg is their gluten-free pizza. But normally pizza crust is egg-free.

The only pizza crust from Papa Johns that contains egg is their gluten-free pizza. Dominoes pizza crust doesn’t contain egg but their thin crust and gluten-free crust contains milk. 

All other pizza restaurants usually don’t use egg in their crusts, but if you have an allergy or are vegan it is best to double check when placing an order. But, most of the time, if you have an egg-allergy or are on a vegan diet, you can eat pizza crust.

Like the article, Are There Eggs In Pizza Dough? says, “Most pizza dough does not contain eggs. Pizza dough typically includes three main ingredients: yeast, flour, and water. Some recipes will also include a tablespoon of sugar and a pinch of salt. Eggs soften the dough and make it taste richer, while egg whites make the crust a little crispier. If you have a food allergy, always look at the ingredients before you purchase pizzas or pizza dough. Frozen pizzas, in particular, may have preservatives.”

Is Pizza Crust Usually Vegan?

Pizza is just a delicious and well-liked food. I mean, the month of October is National Pizza Month, so, it’s safe to say that most people like a good pizza. 

Now, if you are vegan (meaning you don’t use anything that comes from animals) you may be wondering if you too can enjoy pizza. Is pizza crust usually vegan?

Pizza crust is usually vegan and contains no animal derived ingredients. A basic pizza crust is just flour, water, yeast, and salt. Pizza crust is generally dairy-free and egg-free except for a gluten-free crust which contains egg.

Pizza crust doesn’t have any ingredients in it that come from animals. The dough used to make a crust typically doesn’t contain egg and so vegans can enjoy pizza, too. 

Now, gluten-free pizza crusts on the other hand may contain egg, but regular pizza dough doesn’t have any dairy or egg in it meaning that it is vegan-friendly. 

It is always a good idea to check pizzas, especially cheap, or frozen pizzas to see if they contain egg or milk. Some may skimp on time and add it in for texture purposes. But, most of the time, pizza crust doesn’t have egg in it and is also vegan.

According to the article, Does Pizza Dough Have Eggs or Milk?, “The traditional Italian pizza dough recipe never contained egg or milk – there are five main ingredients and these are flour, salt, sugar, water and yeast…anyone who struggles with a dairy allergy, pizza dough is one of the best recipes out there since it doesn’t contain milk, butter or any other animal products – also excellent for a vegan diet…some pizza restaurants and frozen pizza manufacturers may put other things in their version of pizza dough recipes…always look at the allergen information to be sure that the pizza bread isn’t going to cause you harm…the toppings are another matter,…check this part of the recipe and find out what is included in the pizza sauce as well.”

Final Thoughts

Pizza crust is usually made without egg. It is made with flour, water, yeast, and salt but no eggs. Most restaurant’s pizza crust is also egg-free except for the gluten-free crust. Pizza crust is also vegan-friendly. 

However, it is a good idea to check and make sure the pizza crust is dairy- free and egg-free. 

The same goes for an egg or milk allergy as checking is always the best option since some mom and pop pizza chains will have different recipes. Still, pizza is delicious and can be enjoyed even though you may not eat eggs since most pizza crusts don’t have eggs in them.

Hannah R.

Hey, I'm Hannah and I'm the founder of Get Eatin'.

Recent Posts