Last updated on September 28th, 2022 at 06:10 pm
*This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Taco Bell is a fast food restaurant that serves their customers with fast Tex-Mex meals. Their food consists of tacos, burritos, quesadillas, etc.
Along with these Taco Bell also has fries, but these are no ordinary fries. These fries are Nacho Fries and are covered with taco seasoning. They come with nacho cheese sauce for dipping and are great for a snack or with your Taco Bell meal.
If you are vegan and these seasoned fries sound good to you, you could be wondering one thing, are Taco Bell fries vegan?
Taco Bell’s Nacho Fries are indeed vegan. None of their ingredients are from animals except for the dipping cheese. Just order them without the cheese sauce and you have yourself a yummy vegan snack.
A vegan diet is one without eating anything from animals. Meat, dairy, etc are all avoided when someone is a vegan. Even if you are on such a diet, you still like to indulge in some fried food every once in a while.
Because who doesn’t like delicious fries in taco seasoning? One such snack may just be Taco Bell’s Nacho Fries prompting the question if they are vegan-friendly fries.
And yes, they are. The only thing that isn’t vegan is of course the cheese dipping sauce included with the order of fries. But you can just let them know you don’t want the cheese and enjoy the seasoned fries alone for a vegan-friendly snack.
According to Can Vegans Eat, They explain in their article, Are Taco Bell Fries Vegan? Can Vegans Eat Taco Bell Fries? That, “Taco Bell’s seasoned fries paired with nacho cheese is seen on the menu. You can inform the server to make it fresco, switching the cheese to pico de gallo. Pico de Gallo is a mixture of diced tomatoes, cilantro, white onions…The same applies to the four vegetarian dishes paired with pico de gallo. There are nine other dishes that a vegan can choose to convert to pure plant-based ingredients, so there are more selections.”
So, Taco Bell’s Nacho Fries (without that cheese sauce) are vegan-friendly.
Is Anything Vegan At Taco Bell?
Because of all the grease and how fast food is made, Taco Bell probably doesn’t come to mind when you think about healthy food, but did you know that they are one of the healthiest fast food chains?
They have options for those who are cutting back on certain foods so they can still enjoy Taco Bell without sacrificing their goals. They can skip the grease and choose better options for their tacos or burritos. Saying this, is anything vegan at Taco Bell?
There are plenty of vegan options at Taco Bell. Actually all items on their menu can be vegan by substituting ingredients or removing them. Even the rice and beans are vegan-friendly.
Taco Bell explains about their vegan menu options on their websites stating that, “…all items ordered at Taco Bell are able to be made vegan-friendly by some type of substitution or removal. Our Mexican seasoned rice and Black Beans are both vegetarian and vegan-friendly. You can customize almost any item on our menu by replacing meat with beans, and removing dairy items such as cheese, sour cream and mayo-based sauces.”
I already mentioned that the Nacho Fries at Taco Bell are vegan (without the cheese sauce that is). But did you know that Taco Bell has many other healthy options for you? At Taco Bell, you can customize your meal according to your lifestyle.
If you are vegan, you won’t want to eat anything that came from an animal and so you can substitute beans for the meat, pico de gallo for the cheese and sour cream and so on. If you are craving some Taco Bell and are on a vegan diet, don’t worry. Just sub out what you don’t want to eat and make your meal a vegan one.
Vegan Options At Taco Bell
So, you are vegan and Taco Bell is calling your name for lunch. The good news is that you can totally enjoy Taco Bell on a vegan diet.
Just swap out ingredients one that are vegan-friendly and you can have a tasty meal without worrying about what you are eating. Further on we will discuss how exactly to eat vegan at Taco Bell and some vegan-friendly options that are available to you.
There are many vegan options at Taco Bell. These are regular menu items but with some ingredients substituted or removed from the food. When ordering, be specific about what you want on or off the food to receive a Taco Bell meal that is vegan-friendly.
In the article, How To Eat Vegan At Taco Bell, Taco Bell states, “Luckily for all you vegans out there, we’ve got your back. With just a few modifications to some of your favorite menu items, you can create a delicious vegan feast in the restaurant, online at TacoBell.com or through the Taco Bell mobile app…Taco Bell defines “vegan” as recipes that contain no animal ingredients.”
However, they continue to say that there is no guarantee that the vegan options don’t come into contact with other non vegan ingredients. Sometimes they use the same frying oil to prepare certain menu items and crosscontact can occur with meat products.
Taco Bell isn’t responsible for this happening so it’s important to know before you go.
As promised, here is a list of some vegan options you can order at Taco Bell:
- Black bean Crunchwrap Supreme – remove the sour cream and nacho cheese
- Bean Burrito – make it “fresco-style”
- Power Menu Veggie Bowl- remove cheese, sour cream, adn avocado ranch sauce
- Cinnamon Twists – can be eaten as they are
- Crunchy/Soft Taco – make it “fresco-style”, remove seasoned beef, and add black beans
- Black Beans and Rice – can be eaten as it is
- Nacho Fries – order without cheese sauce
Taco Bell’s fries are vegan. Just order the seasonal Nacho Fries without their cheese dipping sauce for a vegan-friendly snack. Taco Bell also has many other vegan menu options to choose from.
You can also just substitute or remove anything from the meals to customize according to your diet. For a vegan meal, take any menu item and simply ask them to remove the sour cream, cheese, and meat and add pico de gallo rice and black beans instead.
By being able to customize their meals, vegans can eat at Taco Bell without worrying about what they are eating. Taco Bell abides by their motto to “Live Mas” by offering healthier and vegan-friendly options to their customers.