Does Creamer Have Gluten?


*This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

What is a cup of coffee without some creamer? While some people enjoy coffee black there are more that prefer to have it sweetened up a little bit. Creamer does just that. 

It also makes coffee a little creamier. 

Coffee creamer is available in a variety of options. You can have your choice from flavors like vanilla, hazelnut, or even Almond Joy. You can also choose from sugar-free or dairy-free creamers for whatever fits your lifestyle best. 

Speaking of types of creamer, does creamer have gluten in it?

Some creamers contain gluten. Some ingredients like wheat flour are used to thicken the creamer but there are also some creamers that are gluten-free.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, and triticale. Triticale is a cross between wheat and rye. These proteins help foods to keep their shape holding food together. 

Can Dogs Eat Whipped Cream

Gluten is found in a lot of different foods, some even being unexpected. Some people have an intolerance to gluten and their body cannot digest it correctly. They are sensitive to the wheat product and eating it can make them sick. 

Because of this, they need to stay away from gluten in foods. Now, if this person loves coffee they probably like creamer in their coffee, too. However, some coffee creamers have gluten in them. 

Like I said before, gluten holds food together and in creamer it does just this, making it creamy. Gluten can thicken creamer. The good news is that although some coffee creamers have gluten, some do not. Just be sure to check the labels to find out which creamers don’t have any wheat products as ingredients and if it doesn’t then these are fine to use in your coffee. 

We have found that most coffee creamers do not have gluten but it is a good idea to check the product’s label to see if it really contains wheat in it or not. Some creamer has gluten and some creamer does not.

To see the most popular gluten free coffee creamers just click here. 

Instant Pot Milk Frother, 4-in-1 Electric Milk Steamer, 10oz/295ml Automatic Hot and Cold Foam Maker and Milk Warmer for Latte, Cappuccinos, Macchiato, 500W

Want to make your own cold foam, warm foam, or hot milk for all your favorite drinks?

Then you have to try out this amazing gadget that will work to make whichever foam for whatever drink you are craving!

Does Coffee Mate/Delight Creamer Have Gluten?

Creamer is a great add-in to coffee. It sweetens and thickens it up for a creamy and flavorful cup of joe. Two of the major brands of coffee creamers are Coffee Mate and International Delight. They both make some good coffee creamer available in liquid or powdered form. 

They have so many flavors to choose from for the perfect addition to your coffee. If you are gluten intolerant but still like to use creamer, you may wonder if these coffee creamer brands contain gluten.

Almost all creamers from Coffee Mate and International Delight coffee creamer are gluten free but it’s always a good practice to check the labels as ingredients used can change regularly. 

According to the article, Can You Drink Coffee With a Gluten Free Diet?, “…be aware that food products labeled “gluten-free” can actually contain gluten. Under current Food and Drug Administration rules, a product can be labeled “gluten-free” if it has 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten or less. If you’re especially sensitive to gluten, even in very small amounts, don’t depend solely on a “gluten-free” label. Instead, check the ingredients list to make sure that it doesn’t contain anything with the protein.” 

It is said of Coffee Mate, that it could contain gluten. So, if you are gluten-intolerant, opt for the bottle that says “gluten-free” and remember to check the label just in case and then you can use this creamer in your coffee. 

International Delight creamers are said to not contain any gluten. If you are gluten intolerant you can use this creamer in your coffee. That is, after you check out the ingredients just to be sure no wheat products are used in it. 

Nestle says that Coffee Mate coffee creamer is gluten free but this  may or may not have gluten in it. International Delight’s website states that their coffee creamer is also gluten-free. But keep in mind that some creamers have gluten while others do not. 

If you are needing a gluten-free creamer, check the label out first to see if it contains gluten. 

What Coffee Creamers Are Gluten-Free?

Having a gluten intolerance, you cannot eat or drink any products that contain wheat. Being a coffee lover and usually adding creamer to the beverage, this disappointed you until you knew that you could use some creamers in your coffee that are gluten-free. 

Looking for a coffee creamer that is gluten-free? There are several choices for you! Let’s look at some of the coffee creamers that are gluten-free.

There are many coffee creamers that are gluten-free that you can choose from. The best way to check and see if a creamer is indeed gluten free its to check its ingredients label.

Coffee creamers that do not contain gluten include the following:

  • Coffee Mate Natural Bliss Almond Milk Creamer
  • Nutpods Creamer
  • Ripple Half-and-Half
  • So Delicious Dairy Free coffee creamers
  • Silk soy-based dairy-free creamer
  • Ripple half & half
  • Nutpods is gluten free and vegan
  • Califia Farms
  • Alpine Start
  • International Delight (check label)
  • Coffee Mate (check label)
  • Laird Superfood Gluten Free Products 

If you are on a gluten-free diet, be sure to check the labels of the coffee creamers to see if it contains any gluten. Gluten is sometimes added into coffee creamer to thicken it up. 

An ingredient like wheat flour is sometimes added and can be found in powdered creamers too especially if they are flavored. However, there are coffee creamers that are available to you gluten-free. 

Even if the creamer says it is sugar-free or lactose-free it is a good idea to check the ingredient list to see if there is added gluten to the creamer. Liquid or powdered creamer could contain gluten and if you need to stay away from gluten you will not want to use this creamer in your coffee.

Final Thoughts

Does creamer have gluten in it? Some do and some don’t. That leaves the creamer choice up to you. 

Check the product’s ingredients label and look for any wheat on the list. If you don’t see any then you are good to use it in your coffee. 

Even Coffee Mate and Delight have gluten-free creamers available to you along with several other brands. All that to say, some creamers have gluten in them while others do not. 

Since some creamers are gluten-free, those with a gluten intolerance can use creamer in their coffee, too. 

Hannah R.

Hey, I'm Hannah and I'm the founder of Get Eatin'.

Recent Posts