Are Lasagna Noodles Vegan?


*This post may contain affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Layers of meat cooked to perfection, sauce with just the right consistency, and gooey cheese pouring over soft ribbon noodles. This describes a favorite Italian dish, lasagna. 

You may think back to your mother or grandmother’s cooking and it could be that a beloved meal was their famous lasagna. The smells of the meat and cheese filled the air as it cooked in the oven and you couldn’t wait to bite into a mouthful of the delicious food. 

Now, you may prefer a more simple lifestyle like one without eating or using anything coming from animals. This diet is vegan and some consider it to be a healthy way of life. 

Thinking back to that wonderful pasta dish called lasagna, you wonder if the lasagna noodles are vegan?

Some lasagna noodles are vegan while others are not. Look for lasagna noodles that have no egg in the ingredient or are labeled as being vegan.

Are Lasagna Noodles Vegan?

Lasagna is normally made up of meat, sauce, cheese, and noodles. While all of these things are delicious, some prefer to go the vegan route which eliminates many of those foods as options. If you are vegan you are wanting to cut back on those things that came from animals and substitute them with other ingredients. 

Vegan lasagna can be healthy for anyone one to eat. Its creamy and satisfying taste is high in protein and nutrients. Vegan lasagna is hearty, comforting and really easy to prepare. 

If you are making lasagna the vegan way, Some lasagna noodles are totally egg and milk free like  Prince Oven Ready Lasagna and Dreamfields lasagna noodles. 

Many traditional pasta companies make egg noodles on the same equipment as their other pasta so if you are die-hard vegan you want to know you are getting the right kind of food. Dreamfields make their vegan lasagna noodles in an egg-free facility so you can worry less about how they were made and enjoy your meals. 

DeBoles Rice Lasagna noodles are perfect for those who cannot eat wheat whether it be from a food allergy, gluten sensitivity, or celiac disease. To know if specific lasagna noodles are 100 percent vegans look at the ingredients on the package and check if it contains egg or dairy and avoid these. 

In general most pasta does not contain any animal derived ingredients but it is best to make sure if you are committed to your vegan lifestyle.

To see the most popular vegan lasagna noodles just click here. 

Perdue Farms

Tired of spending a small fortune on chicken, pork, beef, or seafood at the grocery store?

Why not order it direct from Perdue Farms instead?

Which Pasta Is Vegan? 

For many, eating vegan is important to them, but they still want to enjoy some of these dishes they love. By substituting ingredients they can make a vegan lasagna that is still tasty. 

But some pasta is vegan while others aren’t. Which pasta is vegan?

Most packaged pasta is vegan but it is always a good idea to check the package’s ingredients to know for sure.

When you’re out grocery shopping, you may look at the ingredients of lasagna noodles and see egg listed as an ingredient. If the lasagna noodles contain egg or milk and you are on a vegan diet, avoid these. 

There are a lot of pastas that are made with plant based ingredients such as semolina and enriched wheat flour. In recent years, pasta making companies have become more creative in the way they make their pasta. 

Many companies now produce pasta made from food like rice, beans, legumes, sea kelp, yams, sweet potato and the list goes on. There are even a lot of gluten free pasta that have a lot of vitamins, minerals and protein in them. 

Popular brands of pasta like Ronzoni, Mueller’s and Barilla offer a good variety of vegan pastas. The brand, Explore Cuisine, carries all-vegan, organic, and gluten-free lasagna noodles that are available at many of your local grocery stores. 

So there are many options when it comes to vegan lasagna noodles. Just check the ingredients listed to see if it contains any animal related add-ins. 

Most of the time, packaged pasta noodles are acceptable for vegans to eat but it never hurts to make sure. Any of the brands of lasagna noodles mentioned are great vegan alternatives when you’re making some lasagna.

What Is Vegan Lasagna Made Of? 

Just because lasagna is vegan doesn’t mean it isn’t yummy. You can still please your taste buds with a square of that layered pasta goodness. 

But what exactly is vegan lasagna made of?

Vegan lasagna is made of substitutes to animal products. It contains ingredients such as meat free sauce, dairy free cheeses, and vegan noodles.

Vegan lasagna can still be tasty and it can be almost exactly just like you remember it when you were younger, just meatless and healthier for you. 

Vegan lasagna shouldn’t be difficult to make. 

Your local grocery store will likely sell meatless vegan “meat” as well as vegan cheeses that can be used in your vegan lasagna dish. It is also easy to make and you can make it however you want. 

There are many ways to make a vegan lasagna dish that are readily available to you online or on Pinterest. 

For the ingredients in most vegan lasagnas you will  have: 

  • No-boil lasagna noodles not containing any egg or milk
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Vegan meatless meat that can be crumbled
  • Canned whole plum tomatoes
  • Tomato paste
  • Oregano
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Vegetable stock
  • Salt and ground black pepper to taste
  • Vegan cashew parmesan
  • Vegan mozzarella shreds. 

Using all of these ingredients, the website, Holy Cow Vegan, has a great recipe for vegan lasagna. As you can see, a classic vegan lasagna is easy to make and delicious to eat.

Final Thoughts

The next time you are out shopping for vegan lasagna ingredients, it is fine to pick up some lasagna noodles. Most of the packages don’t contain any animal products although it is recommended to check the package’s ingredients to see if it contains any egg or milk.

You may also want to look into the company to see if they produce their vegan pasta along with egg products. If you are a vegan you will want to avoid these noodles. 

The best advice would be to do some research and find the best option for you. Eating vegan shouldn’t be difficult and luckily there are lasagna noodles made just for you. 

Even though you may be on a strict vegan diet, you can still enjoy some delicious lasagna.

Hannah R.

Hey, I'm Hannah and I'm the founder of Get Eatin'.

Recent Posts