Are Lasagna Noodles Gluten Free?


There’s nothing like a plate of delicious, warming lasagna on a cold day. This comfort food is loved by many. It is one of the things that my youngest missed when we found out gluten was making him sick. 

Going gluten free can be difficult, especially since gluten seems to be in everything and has so many hidden names. It can take some time to figure out what you can and can’t eat when you have to go gluten free. 

Can you eat lasagna? Are lasagna noodles gluten free? 

Gluten-Free Almond Flour Pasta – ...
Gluten-Free Almond Flour Pasta – Have You Ever Tried Before? (2021)
Unfortunately lasagna noodles are not gluten free since they are made with wheat flour. However you can purchase gluten free lasagna noodles. 

It was about a year and a half into our family going gluten free before our local grocery store started carrying gluten free lasagna noodles. We were excited when we found them right next to the regular lasagna noodles. 

The vast variety of gluten free items found today is far superior to what was available just ten and twenty years ago so you will likely still love lasagna made with gluten free noodles. 

To see the most popular gluten free snacks just click here. 

Does Lasagna Contain Gluten?

If you are looking to buy premade lasagna at a restaurant or store but have an issue with gluten, you will want to know whether lasagna normally contains gluten. 

Premade lasagna purchased at the store or in restaurants does normally contain gluten but you can make a delicious gluten free lasagna at home. Barilla makes a delicious gluten free lasagna noodle which makes creating a gluten free lasagna at home easy. 

To make a gluten free lasagna you will need to make sure that all of your ingredients are gluten free (obviously huh). 

Gluten is not just wheat like some people think. Gluten is often hidden in many foods. 

You’ll want to make sure that you use gluten free spices, cheese, sauces, and even meat as Italian sausage can contain gluten. 

I keep our lasagna pretty simple at home and use ground chuck in place of Italian sausage. The ground chuck is easier on my kid’s stomach than sausage and I don’t have to worry about gluten. 

Are Barilla Lasagna Noodles Gluten Free?

Barilla is a name that in America is fairly synonymous with pasta. We have always kept a nice supply of Barilla products in our house and when we suddenly had to go gluten free it was a difficult transition to go from eating pasta two or three times a week to not having it at all. 

We had found some gluten free pasta but it did not have the same texture that we were used to. Everything we tried ended up mushy which is not what we wanted for our pasta! 

Then our local store started carrying Barilla gluten free products, we were so happy. 

Barilla does make gluten free lasagna noodles, spaghetti, elbows, and more but not all Barilla products are gluten free. Make sure that you check the labels to see which Barilla products are gluten free. 

Typically, it will say Gluten Free in large letters on the front of the box. Barilla’s gluten free pasta is the same quality pasta that Barilla has always put out. 

My family was excited to know that they can have many of their favorite dishes again.

Is Cheese Gluten Free?

Gluten comes from wheat, barley, and rye. Foods that do not contain these ingredients do not contain gluten. 

Most dairy products are gluten free, however some products might have a gluten product as an additive or be processed on the same equipment that processes wheat. It is always best to check the labels for all ingredients and possible cross contamination. 

Our family avoids anything that says it might be cross contaminated. Even the slightest bit of gluten can bring my household to a halt for days, causing plans to be cancelled. 

There are some shredded cheeses that use a small amount of flour to keep the shredded cheese from sticking to each other in the bag. While dairy products such as cheese are naturally gluten free you should still check every label. 

This goes for other dairy products as well. Some flavored milks contain gluten as well.

Which Noodles Are Gluten Free?

There are so many different types of pasta on the market today that some of these noodles are naturally gluten free. Going gluten free can be a little overwhelming at first and it may seem like you have to give up your favorite dishes. 

Many of your favorite dishes can stay on the menu with a few alterations. 

Traditionally pasta is made from wheat and therefore is not gluten free but there are several kinds of pasta that are gluten free. 

Rice pasta is gluten free. Some rice pastas will use brown rice flour, while others will use white rice flour. Barilla uses rice flour to make their gluten free noodles. 

Chickpea pasta has a slightly chewy texture along with just a hint of the chickpea flavor. This gluten free pasta is high in fiber and protein. 

Research has shown that chickpeas can reduce cholesterol, enhance blood sugar control, and improve bowel function. This might be a good gluten free pasta to turn to as it has some great health benefits. 

Quinoa pasta is typically a pasta that is made with a blend of grains such as corn, rice, and quinoa. This pasta has a nutty flavor and a grainy texture. 

Quinoa pasta is rich in fiber, iron, and magnesium.

Do Ramen Noodles Have Gluten In Them?

Ramen is a Japanese noodle soup that is made from Chinese style wheat noodles. This soup is served in a rich broth with a variety of meats and vegetables and oftentimes will be topped with an egg. 

The ramen that you get from a restaurant is very different from the instant ramen noodles that you can purchase at the grocery store. 

Ramen noodles are not gluten free as they are made with wheat flour. However, there is at least one company that does make gluten free ramen noodles, Toa Foods. 

Toa Foods has produced a gluten free ramen noodle where the main ingredient is Japonica rice, which gives a fluffy and chewy texture. You could find these gluten free ramen noodles in the store or online and then make your own ramen at home. 

Many ramen recipes call for a soy sauce base for the broth. Most soy sauces do have gluten so you will want to make sure that you purchase a gluten free soy sauce to use when cooking at home. 

Also make sure that if you are eating out to ask about the soy sauce that is being used in their dishes. 

We stopped at one restaurant where we were told my son’s favorite dish was gluten free. We ate there several times after going gluten free, then one day he got horribly sick after eating. 

We called the store and spoke with the owner who told us that they had recently switched to a different soy sauce which did contain gluten. So always check, even if it is a place that you go to often.

Hannah R.

Hey, I'm Hannah and I'm the founder of Get Eatin'.

Recent Posts